my creative space

I am learning to knit!  My Mum and sisters all knit *beeyootifully*  Me, I crochet.  That’s the way it is.  But recently the kids keep asking me to make things for them, and there aren’t a lot of kids’ jumper patterns in crochet.  So, I bit the bullet – and bought a ‘learn to knit’ book.

my first knitting!

I have been pleasantly surprised at how much I am enjoying the process, and how the motion of the basic stitches comes very naturally, after years of watching Mum knit.  The intricacies have had me stumped a couple of times, and I pulled the whole lot out once already, but I am quietly proud of my progress.  This is a chunky rib knit beanie for Mr Age 2 – it probably won’t stay on his head for very long (until we move somewhere very cold), but it is the thought that counts!  And I love the colour of the yarn (which is Patons Inca, by the way).

I asked Miss Age 4 if she thought her brother would like the colour (I told her it was chocolate brown).  Her considered response was “Yes, I think he will like it, because I know he likes chocolate“.  Little Miss Literal!

For more creative spaces, visit here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to my creative space

  1. Great job so far and I love the colour! Knitting is fun and very satisfying 🙂

  2. vanillapixie says:

    I am having the same dilemma! I want handknits for the kids, but I crochet. Your work is looking lovely

  3. sam says:

    Well done, this looks really good! I am only just learning too knit myself so fully appreciate the difficulties!

  4. Morrgan says:

    Congrats on a new hobby! Knitting is one of my fave things to do. 🙂

  5. starzyia says:

    you’re never too old to learn to knit. I can knit but not crochet, so I guess I have to keep the window of possibility open that I might still one day learn that too. My big problem in concentrating on following patterns, i’m better of just knitting a straight scarf, a shawl, or a tube poncho, or cushion cover… nothing complicated as I tend to daydream and forget where I’m up to!

Leave a Reply

