warm little heads

I mentioned I was learning to knit, and starting with a chunky rib beanie for Mr Age 2?

Well …. *drumroll* ……

A beanie for Ryan

He likes wearing it, for about 4 seconds at a time, which isn’t nearly long enough to get a decent photo, so you will just have to pretend there is a sweet little blonde head inside the beanie!

Miss Age 4 has decided she wants one too, so we are off to find some chunky pink or purple yarn.  I think I will be getting quite good at this pattern!

In other creative happenings, I have found a creative way to get Mr Age 2 to eat more dairy… homemade rice pudding.  He refuses most dairy products, including the commercial custard / pudding things.  But when he gets the fun of stirring it for 20 minutes himself, scoffs down 2 bowls of the stuff!

Here is my recipe, slightly modified from a Jamie Oliver at Home version.

Put 1/2 cup of rice in a saucepan with 2 1/2 cups of milk.  Simmer gently for about 20 mins, stirring regularly (or constantly, if you have a child to entertain) until rice is nearly cooked (mixture will slowly thicken and reduce).

Add a couple of tablespoons of sugar, and some cinnamon & nutmeg to taste.  Simmer for another 5 minutes and serve immediately.

Or do what I did, make it before dinner, leave it in the saucepan until after dinner, and find that it  has turned to pudding concrete.  Then add a bit more milk and re-warm on the stove, with more stirring, to get back to custard consistency.

For more creativity head over here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to warm little heads

  1. JoolzGirl says:

    I’m inspired to try that incredibly easy-sounding rice pudding tonight! Sounds a cinch! Wish I could knit – have tried to learn a couple of times but I don’t seem to have the will the go on once I’ve started. Maybe I should get some of those giant knitting needles to start with. Its been suggested, not sure I’m ready to dive back in yet 🙂

  2. starzyia says:

    I think that is a great colour choice for your little man. I also admire little miss’ colour preference of purple! Well done.

  3. Gaby says:

    It’s very cute! And i’m sure it looks even better on his little blond head 🙂

Leave a Reply

