feeling frugal…

I have Scottish roots – my grandfather was born in Glasgow.  His father worked in the Govan shipyards.  The family came to Australia and my grandfather worked in the steel factories of Newcastle, during WWII.  My darling father passed on these Scottish roots to all of us, and I proudly cite that for my tendency to bunker down and get frugal, when the going gets tough.

So when Brad was told in May that his work on this project will finish at the end of August, and that his company don’t have another project for him to transfer to, I started getting twitchy…

After months of looking for jobs, and several interviews for positions in other States, suffice to say we are still looking.  It’s that kind of time – Brad is an engineer, and the construction industry is just now really starting to feel the effect of the GFC.  The Government stimulus buildings are just about done, the floods and Cyclones mean that major projects are being put on hold, while minor works are all carried out.  The Lord is certainly using this time to teach me patience, strength and trust in his infinite wisdom.  I find comfort in the knowledge that He plans only to prosper our family, not to cause harm.

However, in the meantime, my frugal Scottish roots are coming out in some interesting ways.

* I have stopped turning lights on in the house during the day.  We are living in a house with poor orientation for light, and not a lot of windows in the living area, so I used to have the lounge room lights on most of the day.  Now I am learning to enjoy what I call “mood lighting”… (ie. gloom).

* I have hauled out all the little plastic tubs for packing kids’ lunches in, and not using zip-lock bags at all anymore.

* This winter (we are in Australia, remember!) we went through all the hand-me down boxes of clothes and managed to mostly clothe the kids with warm things from their older cousins.

* I am making a point of eating left-overs for my lunches, as we were terrible at putting things in the fridge, and then just chucking them out when they resembled science experiments….

I must remain confident and trusting in the Lord to help us find a position for Brad.  But in the meantime, these other little things are helping me to “keep calm and carry on”.

What do you do that might be considered quirky, but is really just good honest frugal-ness??  Oh, and in the meantime, please also pray for Connie and her family who are going through a lay-off, and facing many of the same emotions as we are.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to feeling frugal…

  1. starzyia says:

    I am sorry to hear about this trial in your life, but heartened to hear your attitude and faith in its face. I really wish you the very best outcome, I know there is a place for you and your husband somewhere and that you will find it when meant to. Meanwhile you will be clever and thrifty and the universe rewards that too.

Leave a Reply

